Different Types of Seniors

Coming down the final stretch in college, everyone has a different major, different friends, different social lives, and different goals. We all have aspirations and places we want to go, and we all have different ideas on the best route to get there. So, being a junior in college, I have a lot of decisions to make and a lot of things to finish up before I’ll be ready to leave college and get out into the real world. Like I said, everyone has different goals and different ways to get there, so everyone’s senior year can be expected to look a little different.

I was quite diligent about getting done what I needed to get done for graduation pretty early on and I didn’t fail or have to drop out of any courses, so I maintained everything I needed to as an underclassmen. So going into my senior year, I will have one semester of work that will complete the rest of my major courses, minor courses, and general education requirements. So my second semester is only there to get the rest of my credits required to graduate. As my advisor so nicely put, “You can take like 8 gyms if you want to.” I’m going to be drifting through my second semester senior year, giving myself a lot more opportunity for looking for jobs and such.

Then there is another type of senior. There is the “Oh my, I have a lot to get done and not a lot of time to do it” type of senior. This is the person who either had way too much fun as a freshman and failed a couple classes, changed their major really late and needs to make up a ton of classes, or somehow ended up making a lot of poor choices and is now in a bad situation.

Looking around at everyone scrambling for classes senior year and planning out the future beyond that makes me realize that I went through my college years with plenty of involvement to have a great time, but also committed enough of my time to my studies in order to make sure I would be ready to graduate on time and with plenty of room for extra classes. So, bottom line, have as much fun as you want, but make sure you get your work done when you need to. Some day you’ll thank yourself for your own work.

Different Types of Seniors

Leave a comment