Heading Home

Going to school far away from home has had its ups and downs, but returning back home is always a good feeling. When I was looking at colleges I knew I wanted to go south because I was tired of the long cold winters, but doing this involved moving 11 hours away from home. I was happy to do this knowing that eventually my parents would also be moving south, but sometimes I do actually miss my northern life.

Every semester I’m working hard, because that’s what math majors do. If you’re not working hard, you’re probably also failing. I’m also really busy with other social obligations and work, so exhaustion tends to set in fairly quick and I feel like I need a break. I get caught up in life and worry too much about the small things and forget to look at the big picture and realize how good my life is. I get overwhelmed and frustrated with tests and feel over my head in work, so the ability to get away from school work for a while is a good mental health break.

So here we are, the day before spring break and my state of mind is glorious. I find myself trapped for a while, and then as soon as the day comes to leave I change my outlook on life and can’t wait to get home. The only thing between me and freedom is an 11 hour drive into the cold. Going somewhere warm for spring break is generally the ideal, but sometimes you just need to go home and remember where you came from to appreciate where you are.

So enjoy your spring break, be safe, and appreciate the time you can spend without worrying about school work, because it’s coming back!

Heading Home

Leave a comment