Southern Snow

I’m from Connecticut, so winters have always been white. We’ve even had halloween cancelled because it snowed 11 inches in October, so cold weather and I have always had a relationship. Going outside has always been a hassle in the winter because you don’t want to dress up like an eskimo just to go to the store, but that’s what comes with living in the north east. After living in New England for 18 years, I decided that it was time to go south, so I came to college in North Carolina. I knew there were still winters here, but I also knew that it was going to be warmer than home, so that was enough for me.

Little did I know, it would always be a good show when it snowed in the south. As soon as there is a snow flake in the forecast, everyone goes into panic mode immediately. All organizations are ready to close, and everyone prepares for a blizzard. Being from up north, we could get a foot of snow and still go to work and school the next day. Down south, I have come to find out that is most certainly not the case. If there is anything more than a half inch, schools, stores and other organizations will begin posting closed signs.

Northern living involves driving in the weather a lot, so it really isn’t a problem for me to get around when it snows. However, that isn’t the case for everyone. After 2 or 3 inches of snow, driving around down south becomes dangerous, and it isn’t me that I’m afraid of. I can’t go out on the road without seeing a new accident every 2 miles because southern people don’t know how to drive in bad weather. There are tires spinning all over the place, cars sliding sideways, piles of snow in the middle of intersections, and safety is nowhere to be found.

It’s always a good time when it snows in the south because I get to sit back and watch as chaos commences. Closures, accidents, and worry is all over the place, but the northerners are carrying on with every day life.

Southern Snow

Leave a comment